Make bigger Make smaller Print page  

Hcéres gets a European evaluation!

In 2015-2016, Hcéres entered into an evaluation process with a view to renewing its inclusion on the EQAR (European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education) and its membership of ENQA (European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education), inherited from AERES, which was evaluated in 2010.

This European-level recognition is based on a self-evaluation followed by an external evaluation coordinated by ENQA and led by a committee of international experts.

As with the institutions evaluated by Hcéres, self-evaluation is a key opportunity for sharing and reflecting on the organisation’s operation, practices and any potential developments, in line with its quality approach.

Furthermore, it is intended to:

  • Evaluate the compliance of Hcéres practices and organisational structure with the European Standard and Guidelines (ESG) which were revised in 2015;
  • Assess the implementation of the recommendations from the previous external evaluation in 2010;
  • Set out new strategic priorities for developing evaluation activities.

Key dates:

  • April 2016: submission of the Hcéres self-evaluation report to ENQA
  • July 2016: on-site visit by the committee of international experts
  • September 2016: publication of the external evaluation report by ENQA
  • 4th quarter of 2016: final ENQA decision by the Review Committee, which issues an opinion on ESG compliance based on the external evaluation report
  • 1st quarter of 2017: submission of application to the EQAR
  • 2nd quarter of 2017: final EQAR decision by the Register Committee with regard to the inclusion of Hcéres after assessment of the application including the self-evaluation and external evaluation reports

Key background information:

The Bologna Process was launched in 1999 with France as a signatory, and in 2003, began to set up a quality assurance system for the European Higher Education Area. This is based on a set of references and guidelines (Standards and guidelines for quality assurance in the European Higher Education AREA – ESG) that higher education players in the various signatory States must apply.

There are three parts to the ESG:

  • Part 1: internal quality assurance (the internal quality of institutions);
  • Part 2: external quality assurance (quality assurance methods developed by the agencies);
  • Part 3: quality assurance agencies (methods for evaluating quality assurance agencies).

To this end, EQAR is responsible for listing quality assurance agencies that comply with the ESG.

At the same time, ENQA’s role is to work towards improving the European higher education quality assurance system.